www.literaryawards.com.au- book awards of the world central



Coretta Scott King Book Award 1997 to present

Given to African American authors and illustrator for outstanding inspirational and educational contributions, the Coretta Scott King Book Award titles promote understanding and appreciation of the culture of all peoples and their contribution to the realization of the American dream.The award is designed to commemorate the life and works of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and to honor Mrs. Coretta Scott King for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood. Awards are given for Best Author and Best Illustrator.

The John Steptoe Award for New Talent was established to affirm new talent and to offer visibility to excellence in writing and/or illustration which otherwise might be formally unacknowledged within a given year within the structure of the two awards given annually by the Coretta Scott King Task Force

Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award 2010

Bad News for Outlaws: The Remarkable Life of Bass Reeves, Deputy U.S. Marshal written by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson, illustrated by R. Gregory Christie

One King Author Honor Book was selected: Mare’s War by Tanita s. Davis and published by Alfred A. Knopf, an imprint of Random House Children’s Books, a division of Random House, Inc.

Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book Award

My People illustrated by Charles R. Smith Jr., written by Langston Hughes

One King Illustrator Honor Book was selected:The Negro Speaks of Rivers, illustrated by E. B. Lewis, written by Langston Hughes and published by Disney - Jump at the Sun Books, an imprint of Disney Book Group.

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Author Award 2010

The Rock and the River written by Kekla Magoon

Coretta Scott King – Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement 2010
Walter Dean Myers

2009 Author Award

We Are the Ship: The Story of Negro League Baseball by Kadir Nelson Publisher Comments
Using an "Everyman" player as his narrator, Kadir Nelson tells the story of Negro League baseball from its beginnings in the 1920s through its decline after Jackie Robinson crossed over to the majors in 1947. (read more)

2009 Illustrator Award

The Blacker the Berry by Joyce Carol Thomas Publisher Comments
Black is dazzling and distinctive, like toasted wheat berry bread; snowberries in the fall; rich, red cranberries; and the bronzed last leaves of summer. In this lyrical and luminous collection, Coretta Scott King honorees Joyce Carol Thomas and Floyd Cooper celebrate these many shades of black beautifully. (read more)

2008 Author Award Elijah of Buxton by Christopher Paul Curtis
2008 Illustrator Award Let It Shine: Three Favorite Spirituals illustrated by Ashley Bryan

2007 Author Award Copper Sun by Sharon Draper
2007 Illustrator Award Moses: When Harriet Tubman Led Her People to Freedom illustrated by Kadir Nelson

2006 Author Award Day of Tears by Julius Lester
2006 Illustrator Award Rosa illustrated by Bryan Collier

2005 Author Award Remember by Toni Morrison
2005 Illustrator Award Ellington Was Not a Street illustrated by Kadir A. Nelson

2004 Author Award The First Part Last by Angela Johnson
2004 Illustrator Award Beautiful Blackbird written and illustrated by Ashley Bryan

2003 Author Award Bronx Masquerade by Nikki Grimes
2003 Illustrator Award Talkin' about Bessie: The Story of Aviator Elizabeth Coleman illustrated by E. B. Lewis, written by Nikki Grimes

2002 Author Award The Land by Mildred D. Taylor
2002 Illustrator Award Goin' Someplace Special illustrated by Jerry Pinkney and written by Patricia McKissack

2001 Author Award Miracle's Boys by Jacqueline Woodson
2001 Illustrator Award Uptown illustrated and written by Bryan Collier

2000 Author Award Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis
2000 Illustrator Award In the Time of the Drums illustrated by Brian Pinkney and written by Kim L. Siegelson

1999 Author Award Heaven by Angela Johnson
1999 Illustrator Award I See the Rhythm illustrated by Michele Wood and written by Toyomi Igus

1998 Author Award Forged by Fire by Sharon Mills Draper
1998 Illustrator Award In Daddy's Arms I am Tall illustrated by Alan Schroeder and written by Javaka Steptoe

1997 Author Award Slam! by Water Dean Myers
1997 Illustrator Award Minty: A Story of Young Harriet Tubman illustrated by Jerry Pinkney and written by Alan Schroeder



Latest Literary Prize News from Award Tragic

Subscribe by Email

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner


EBooks Now Available from Fish Pond BeBook eReader with 1000+ eBooks!!

Check the BeBook ereader featuring over 1000+ titles free! More

Share |

Go Green! Go Earth Books!

600 x 120 skyscraper

Flight Centre - Australia's #1 Travel Agency