www.literaryawards.com.au- book awards of the world central



The PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction

Named for William Faulkner, who used his Nobel Prize funds to create an award for young writers, and affiliated with PEN (Poets, Playwrights, Editors, Essayists and Novelists), the international writers' organization, the PEN/Faulkner Award was founded by writers in 1980 to honor their peers, and is now the largest juried award for fiction in the United States.

2010 Winner


Sherman Alexie's War Dances (Grove Press) has been selected as the winner of the 2010 PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction.  

The PEN/Faulkner Award is America's largest peer-juried prize for fiction in the United States.  As winner, Alexie wins $15,000.  Each of the four finalists--Barbara Kingsolver for The Lacuna, Lorraine M. Lopez for Homicide Survivors Picnic and Other Stories, Lorrie Moore for A Gate at the Stairs, and Colson Whitehead for Sag Harbor--receives $5,000.


Netherland Netherland by Joseph O'Neill

"A dense, intelligent novel... O'Neill offers an outsider's view of New York bursting with wisdom, authenticity, and a sobering jolt of realism." Publisher's Weekly (read more)

2007 Everyman by Philip Roth
2006 The March by E L Doctorow
2005 War Trash by Ha Jin
2004 The Early Stories: 1953-1975 by John Updike
2003 The Caprices by Sabina Murray
2002 Bel Canto by Ann Patchett
2001 The Human Stain by Philip Roth
2000 Waiting by Ha Jin
1999 The Hours by Michael Cunningham
1998 The Bear Comes Home by Rafi Zabor
1997 Women in Their Beds: New and Selected Stories by Gina Berriault
1996 Independence Day by Richard Ford
1995 Snow Falling on Cedars by David Guterson
1994 Operation Shylock: A Confession by Philip Roth
1993 Postcards by E. Annie Proulx
1992 Mao II by Don Delillo
1991 Philadelphia Fire: A Novel by John Edgar Wideman
1990 Billy Bathgate by E. L. Doctorow
1989 Dusk and Other Stories: And Other Stories by James Salter
1988 World's End by T. Coraghessan Boyle
1987 Soldiers in Hiding by Richard Wiley
1986 The Old Forest and Other Stories by Peter Taylor
1985 The Barracks Thief by Tobias Wolff
1984 Sent for You Yesterday by John Edgar Wideman
1983 Seaview by Toby Olson
1982 The Chaneysville Incident by David Bradley
1981 How German Is It: Wie Deutsch Ist Es: A Novel by Walter Abish

Latest Literary Prize News from Award Tragic

Subscribe by Email

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner


EBooks Now Available from Fish Pond BeBook eReader with 1000+ eBooks!!

Check the BeBook ereader featuring over 1000+ titles free! More

Share |

Go Green! Go Earth Books!

600 x 120 skyscraper

Flight Centre - Australia's #1 Travel Agency