www.literaryawards.com.au- book awards of the world central



2009 Festival Appearances - Belfast Book Festival 24th February -Sunday March 1st, 2009


Poet and novelist Ciaran Carson was born in Belfast, Northern Ireland, in 1948. After graduating from Queen's University, Belfast, he worked for the Arts Council of Northern Ireland until 1998. He won an Eric Gregory Award in 1978.

His collections of poetry include The Irish for No (1987), winner of the Alice Hunt Bartlett Award; Belfast Confetti (1990), which won the Irish Times Irish Literature Prize for Poetry; and First Language: Poems (1993), winner of the T. S. Eliot Prize. His prose includes The Star Factory (1997) and Fishing for Amber (1999). His most recent novel, Shamrock Tea (2001), explores themes present in Jan van Eyck's painting The Arnolfini Marriage. His translation of Dante's Inferno was published in November 2002. Breaking News (2003), won the Forward Poetry Prize (Best Poetry Collection of the Year). His most recent poetry collection is For All We Know (2008), shortlisted for both the 2008 T. S. Eliot Prize and the Costa Poetry Award.

Ciaran Carson is also an accomplished musician, and is the author of Last Night's Fun: About Time, Food and Music (1996), a study of Irish traditional music. He lives in Belfast.


The New Estate   Blackstaff Press, 1976

The Lost Explorer   Ulsterman Publications, 1978

Irish Traditional Music   Appletree Press, 1986

The Irish for No   The Gallery Press, 1987

The New Estate and Other Poems   The Gallery Press, 1988

Belfast Confetti   Bloodaxe, 1990

First Language: Poems   Gallery Books, 1993

Belfast Frescoes   (with John Kindness)   Ulster Museum, 1995

Letters from the Alphabet   The Gallery Press, 1995

Last Night's Fun: About Time, Food and Music   Cape, 1996

Opera Et Cetera   Bloodaxe, 1996

The Star Factory   Granta, 1997

The Alexandrine Plan   (adaptations of sonnets by Baudelaire, Mallarmé, and Rimbaud)   The Gallery Press, 1998

Fishing for Amber   Granta, 1999

The Ballad of HMS Belfast: A Compendium of Belfast Poems   Picador, 1999

The Twelfth of Never   Picador, 1999

Shamrock Tea   Granta, 2001

The Inferno of Dante Alighieri   (translator)   Granta, 2002

Breaking News   The Gallery Press, 2003

The Midnight Court/Brian Merriman   (translator)   The Gallery Press, 2005

The Tain   (translator)   Penguin, 2007

For All We Know   The Gallery Press, 2008

The Pen Friend   Blackstaff Press, 2009

Prizes and awards

1978   Eric Gregory Award

1987   Alice Hunt Bartlett Award   The Irish for No

1990   Irish Times Irish Literature Prize for Poetry   Belfast Confetti

1993   T. S. Eliot Prize   First Language: Poems

1997   Yorkshire Post Book Award (Book of the Year)   The Star Factory

2003   Cholmondeley Award

2003   Forward Poetry Prize (Best Poetry Collection of the Year)   Breaking News

2008   Costa Poetry Award   (shortlist)   For All We Know

2008   T. S. Eliot Prize   (shortlist)   For All We Know


Latest Literary Prize News from Award Tragic

Subscribe by Email

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner


Share |

Go Green! Go Earth Books!

600 x 120 skyscraper

Flight Centre - Australia's #1 Travel Agency