www.literaryawards.com.au- book awards of the world central



The Canadian Library Association Young Adult Canadian Book Award was established in 1980 by the Young Adult Caucus of the Saskatchewan Library Association and is administered by the Young Adult Services Group (YASIG). This prize is awarded to the author of an outstanding English language book for young adults (ages 13-18) published in the preceding calendar year. A CLA member from Saskatchewan is on the selection committee, and the Book Award seal, which was designed by a young adult from Regina, designates the winning title each year. The winning book must be a work of fiction (novel or collection of short stories) written by a Canadian citizen or landed immigrant published in Canada. The winner receives a leather bound book with the Award seal embossed on the cover in gold.

2010 - Wondrous Strange, Lesley Livingston (HarperCollins)

2009   Allan Stratton, Chanda’s Wars. Toronto: Harper Trophy Canada, 2008.

mistak_lake_cover2008 Winnner Martha Brooks (below) Mistibrooks_marthak Lake. Toronto: Groundwooda Books, 2007.

Seventeen-year-old Odella is haunted by family secrets. Why doesn’t her great-aunt Gloria visit anymore? Why does her mother, Sally, drink so much? Sally’s tragic car accident on a frozen lake when she was sixteen seems to have cast a spell over her life that no one can break. Odella tries to hold her family together, but when her mother runs off, the family is left reeling. Then Odella meets Jimmy Tomasson, whose dreams of prophetic flying fish seem to have led him to her. In the heat and tenderness of their deepening feelings and in his belief in her, Odella begins to find the strength to unravel the web of secrets that has ensnared them all.
This stunning novel, written in spare, elegant prose and told from multiple points of view, explores the lives of three generations of women in one family, revealing what happens when you don’t have the courage to follow your own heart, and what can happen when you do.

Other 2008 Shortlisted

The Space Between by Don Aker (HarperCollins)
For Now by Gayle Friesen (Kids Can Press)
The Corps of the Bare-Boned Plane by Polly Horvath (Groundwood Books)
How It Happened in Peach Hill by Marthe Jocelyn (Tundra Books)
Another Kind of Cowboy by Susan Juby (HarperCollins)
Retribution by Carrie Mac (Penguin)
Eye of the Crow by Shane Peacock (Tundra Books)
Into the Ravine by Richard Scrimger (Tundra Books)
Better than Blonde by Teresa Toten (Penguin)

2007 William Bell The Blue Helmet. Toronto: Doubleday Canada, 2006.
2006 Shyam Selvadurai Swimming in the Monsoon Sea. Toronto: Tundra Books, 2005.
2005 Miriam Toews A Complicated Kindness. Toronto: Alfred A. Knopf Canada, 2004.
2004 Polly Horvath The Canning Season. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 2003.
2003 Martha Brooks True Confessions of a Heartless Girl. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 2002.
2002 William Bell Stones. Toronto: Doubleday Canada, 2001.
2001 Beth Goobie Before Wings. Victoria: Orca Book Publishers, 2000.
2000 Katherine Holubitsky Alone at Ninety Foot. Victoria: Orca Book Publishers, 1999.
1999 Gayle Friesen Janey's Girl. Toronto: Kids Can Press, 1998.
1998 Martha Brooks Bone Dance. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 1997.
1997 R. P. MacIntyre (Editor) Takes: Stories for Young Adults. Saskatoon: Thistledown Press, 1996.
1996 Tim Wynne-Jones The Maestro. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 1995.
1995 Julie Johnston Adam and Eve and Pinch-Me. Toronto: Lester Publishing, 1994.
1994 Sean Stewart Nobody's Son. Toronto: Maxwell Macmillan Canada, 1993.
1993 Karleen Bradford There Will Be Wolves. Toronto: HarperCollins, 1992.
1992 Susan Lynn Reynolds Strandia. Toronto: HarperCollins, 1991.
1991 Budge Wilson The Leaving. Toronto: House of Anansi Press, 1990.
1990 Diana Wieler Bad Boy. Toronto: Groundwood Books, 1989.
1989 Helen Fogwell Porter January, February, June or July. St. John's: Breakwater Books, 1988.
1988 Margaret Buffie Who is Frances Rain? Toronto: Kids Can Press, 1987.
1987 Janet Lunn Shadow in Hawthorn Bay. Toronto: Lester & Orpen Dennys, 1986.
1986 Marianne Brandis The Quarter Pie Window. Erin, ON: The Porcupine's Quill, 1985.
1985 Mary Ellen Lang-Collura Winners. Saskatoon: Western Producer Prairie Books, 1984.
1984 O.R. Melling The Druid's Tune. Toronto: Penguin Books, 1983.
1983 Monica Hughes Hunter in the Dark. Toronto: Clarke, Irwin, 1982.
1982 Jamie Brown Superbike! Toronto: Clarke, Irwin, 1981.
1981 Kevin Major Far From Shore. Toronto: Clark, Irwin, 1980.

back to top


Latest Literary Prize News from Award Tragic

Subscribe by Email

Subscribe to RSS headline updates from:
Powered by FeedBurner


EBooks Now Available from Fish Pond BeBook eReader with 1000+ eBooks!!

Check the BeBook ereader featuring over 1000+ titles free! More

Share |

Go Green! Go Earth Books!

600 x 120 skyscraper

Flight Centre - Australia's #1 Travel Agency